Types of Purifying Holy Water and Full Explanation

 Holy Water

The holy water that purifies is one of the types of water in Islamic law that is used for ablution. Ibn Qasim Al-Ghazi mentions there are seven kinds of water in this category :


المياه التي يجوز التطهير بها سبع مياه: ماء السماء، وماء البحر، وماء النهر، وماء البئر

وماء العين, وماء الثلج، وماء البرد

Meaning: “There are seven kinds of water that can be used for purification, namely rain water, sea water, river water, well water, spring water, and snow water, and water from hail.”

These seven kinds of water are referred to as absolute water as long as they are still in the original nature of their creation. When the original nature of its creation changes, it is no longer called absolute water and the laws of its use change.

Shaykh Abdurrahman Al-Juzairi in the book of Fiqh of the Four Madzhabs Volume 1 explains this water group more fully.

4 facts about holy and purifying water

1. Understanding holy and purifying water

Pure and purifying water is all water that comes down from the sky. The source of water is from the ground or pure water that can be used for purification. In Islam, this water is called thahur.

According to the Maliki and Shafi’i schools, water is called thahur as long as it does not change its nature. If the aroma, color, or taste has changed, then the water is no longer called thahur.

2. The difference between pure and ordinary holy water

The difference between pure and ordinary holy water is in the type of needs that can be met. Thahur water can be used to meet daily needs, cleaning najis, and other impurities on the body, clothes, or other things attached to the body.

These needs cannot be met by ordinary holy water. Ordinary types of holy water can be used for drinking, bathing, washing clothes, utensils, and other purposes.

3. The law of holy water purifies

The scholars divide the law on the use of thahur water into 5 types, namely:

Mandatory: When things that must be done depend on the purity of a person, both from small and large hadas, for example praying.

Haram: The water belongs to someone else who does not allow it to be used, is provided specifically for certain needs, or becomes a hazard when used. For example, a person who has a disease can get worse when exposed to water.

Sunnah: Water is used for ablution while still in a state of purity from hadats or sunnah bathing to perform Friday prayers.

Mubah: Water is used for drinking and so on.

Makruh: Water is used when it is too hot or too cold, but not to the point of harming health. The reason is that it is makruh because when performing ablution with water it can interfere with solemnity in prayer.

4. The limits of the sanctity of holy water purify

There are times when water changes, both in color, taste, and smell. However, it is still holy and can be used for worship purposes, as long as it does not cause harm or disease.

The scholars say that changes in water that do not come out of its purity are water that has changed its nature due to several things, such as:

Where water and its flow are located, for example: ancient ablution places, ponds located in the desert and the like, or water flowing through mining streams.

Length of stay, for example: water placed in a bottle for a long time

Objects that are used as a place to store water, for example: well water exposed to dust due to wind, twigs, and so on.

Those are the kinds of water that are holy and purifying, along with 4 facts according to Islamic jurisprudence. I hope you understand, my friend!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top